Law School Preparation/Advice (I'm currently in Grad School)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JAlexCIP

Law School Preparation/Advice (I'm currently in Grad School)

Postby JAlexCIP » Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:03 pm

Hi, I'm a recent graduate (2012) from a decent state school in FL (UCF). I had some family health issues throughout undergrad (father has Multiple Sclerosis) and ended up unfortunately with a 3.4 GPA with a BA in Interdisciplinary Studies. I'm starting my Master's in Health Services Administration (MS-HSA) at the same school this fall and plan on it taking about 2 years to complete.

Yes, I'm aware that I do not need a MS-HSA degree to practice health related law. But, right now I have the time and it's relatively inexpensive with in-state tuition to get the extra degree. It also gives me some flexibility down the road if I don't like law or if I simply want to incorporate it into hospital administration/management.

I have yet to take the LSAT, but I have scored around 154-156 on a few practice exams without any prior practice/prep courses. I would like to end up scoring in the mid to high 160s, if possible. I plan on maintaining a 4.0 throughout my MS-HSA degree and establishing solid contacts with professors for future recommendation letters, something I did not do during undergrad.

So with that being said, what should I be doing over the next two years to make my law school applications more substantial? I would like to attend either UF/FSU in FL or Emory/UGA in GA. Do you recommend any extracurriculars, volunteer work, internships, etc. or is a solid LSAT/grad school GPA sufficient?

Any input would greatly appreciated, thanks.

Re: Law School Preparation/Advice (I'm currently in Grad School)

Postby 2014 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:29 pm

Your grad school GPA is somewhere between very and absolutely meaningless. It is a good idea to interact with professors though as networking is an important skill and academic LORs are necessary.