Academic Misconduct Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
junlawun89

New

Academic Misconduct

Post by junlawun89 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:54 pm

Hello, I am trying to apply to law schools for the next academic year but I have a slight concern.
When I was a sophomore in college, I cheated on a small quiz.
I got caught and admitted that I did try to look for answers from my friend.
My professor told me that she would penalize me for it by giving me a zero on the quiz but also said that
the record will be expunged when I graduate if I did not commit any further academic misconduct and I did not.
Now, I have graduated from college this year and was wondering if I still need to report this to law schools.
And whether this will affect me at all for my law school admission chances?
Please give me detailed information as much as you can!
I would really appreciate it.
Thank you.

Yardbird

Silver

Re: Academic Misconduct

Post by Yardbird » Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:15 am

junlawun89 wrote:Hello, I am trying to apply to law schools for the next academic year but I have a slight concern.
When I was a sophomore in college, I cheated on a small quiz.
I got caught and admitted that I did try to look for answers from my friend.
My professor told me that she would penalize me for it by giving me a zero on the quiz but also said that
the record will be expunged when I graduate if I did not commit any further academic misconduct and I did not.
Now, I have graduated from college this year and was wondering if I still need to report this to law schools.
And whether this will affect me at all for my law school admission chances?
Please give me detailed information as much as you can!
I would really appreciate it.
Thank you.
Contact the appropriate judicial affairs committee at your school and ask for a copy of your academic record. See if there's anything on it. If its clean, you're clean. If its not, write an addendum.

junlawun89

New