Advice on a 4th retake? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
idontwantdebt1467

New

Advice on a 4th retake?

Post by idontwantdebt1467 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:54 pm

I'm new to TLS and need some major advice from those with more knowledge/experience with law school admissions.

I sat for the LSAT twice in 2008 while I was in grad school (bad idea) and scored a 157 and 161 with very little studying/preparation.

Early this year, I realized I really wanted to go to law school and decided to actually prep and sit for the exam again. Took it in June and scored a 169, although I was scoring around 173-175 on my practice tests so I know I can do better. So, my question is: should I take the LSAT for a fourth time, and if I do, will I have any chance at Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard? Would taking it a fourth time just make the admissions committee think I'm an idiot? Also, I'd really prefer to stay in the Bay Area as my fiance is a practicing attorney in Cali, and he would hate to have to sit for another bar exam although he'd do it if we wanted to move.

Here's some more information on me:
UGPA: 3.94 (large public university, played women's basketball)
LSAT: 169 (highest and most recent)
I have an MBA in finance, and for what it's worth, I just sold my software company (probably not relevant).

I want to apply on the first day to the T14 - would it be harmful to my application if they received another score at the end of October after they've already looked over my application?

If you've read this far, thank you! I appreciate any advice!

Platinum

Re: Advice on a 4th retake?

Post by 2014 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:16 pm

Yes you should take it a 4th time if you were legit scoring 173-175 average on accurately timed PTs. You will only look like an idiot if you score lower and even then it's not clear whether that's even a big negative.