Best use of time between Undergrad and LS? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Purplebootyfox

New

Best use of time between Undergrad and LS?

Post by Purplebootyfox » Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:08 am

Essentially my background is that I just graduated from a big state school (regional, not prestigous) with a double major in Political Science and Economics. I did alright, not amazing (3.74 GPA), but my one big advantage was that I graduated in three years (hoping that wins me points somewhere down the line). Since I finished early I don't have any UG debt and I have a little bit of time. I haven't taken the LSAT yet, but because I finished school early and debt free, I am not necessarily in a major rush to take it. I'm interning this summer, and I plan to start studying in the fall, and I plan on taking the LSAT whenever I feel like I'm prepared enough, and confident in my ability to get a great score. (Sorry for the little bio, but making my point).

I don't have any notable WE, or a "special" background of any sorts, so what would be the best use of my time between now and my application to law school (assuming about 2 years)? Should I try and find a volunteer project or just try and get the best possible job I can? As of now I have aspirations of going to Boalt, and if not there a similarily ranked school, I have read into Boalt prefering diversity and valuing "softs" much more than other schools, essentially what could I do with 2 years to better my chances of going to a school with these preferences? Thanks (sorry again for the long bio)

MrSparkle

Bronze

Re: Best use of time between Undergrad and LS?

Post by MrSparkle » Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:39 pm

Our world is globalizing blah blah - I'd find opportunities abroad, NGO or other (ex. teaching English pays well in Asia even with no credentials or experience). It might help your app and give you a story to share.