Early Admissions, how important is it? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JohnV

Bronze

Early Admissions, how important is it?

Post by JohnV » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:32 pm

I'm studying for the LSAT and plan to take it in October. I know I can apply for early admissions with this test date but the problem is I might not have my LORs or my PS ready in time and it's likely that this last semester (Fall 2012 is my last semester) will raise my GPA a few points so I'd like admissions to see my updated GPA rather than my current one (3.76 to possible 3.79). Should I try to get these LR's quickly and start working on my PS (while studying for the LSAT) or should I wait to apply during the regular session?

Also, I'm trying to get LORs and I hear they like professors to give them more than anything but that is going to be tough for me. I could probably get some from my supervisors/co-workers (I work as a staff member of a T20 law school and I could probably get LORs from people who work with students as I've done projects with them) so I'm hoping that could actually work in my favor even though they aren't professors.

cutecarmel

Silver

Re: Early Admissions, how important is it?

Post by cutecarmel » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:30 pm

I think applying ED would be good for your reach schools. If I were you, I wouldn't hold off on the application for only a .02 GPA increase.

As for your timing, unless you have a really intense work schedule over the summer, you should have plenty of time to write your PS. And if you ask for LORs now, your recommenders have enough time to submit them. So, I don't think you should wait.

As for who writes your LORs, remember that what your recommenders say is more important than their prestige, so getting an LOR from someone that works at a T20 law school isn't valuable unless they really have something impressive to say about you. And I wouldn't recommend getting co-workers to write them for you; only supervisors.