Non-Traditional, WE , Low GPA URM - Chances of admission??

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
79radiohead

Non-Traditional, WE , Low GPA URM - Chances of admission??

Postby 79radiohead » Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:27 pm

The law school admission process has me in knots. I currently attend Penn State and have a 3.84 GPA. My major is Law and Society. My undergrad career has spanned over 10 years due to a pregnancy and an abusive relationship. I am starting my senior year in the fall. My current LSAC GPA is a disgusting 2.59. The main reason for this is that I attended a school that was not regionally accredited although they lied and said it was. It was too late for me to drop the classes so I have quite a few F's that dragged my cumulative GPA down. I have also attended 4 different undergrad institutions (including the crap one). I had to retake all of those courses so I basically wasted a year. I have always wanted to attend law school but just got real serious in the past year where I figured out all this info about my GPA. I am taking the LSAT in October and have scored around 155-160 on practice tests. I am planning on studying my butt off until then.

I am Puerto Rican and I have also worked full time during all of the years that I was going to school. Will this count as work experience?? I am 33 years old. I had all the starry eyed plans of attending a T10 but not it seems that that wont happen due to the bad GPA situation. So if I am able to pull say a 160 on the LSAT, how much will my URM status help me? I don't want to waste time on applying for schools I have no chance getting into, but I do not want to go to a Tier 3 or 4 as well. I hate depending on URM because I hate the concept, however I don't feel my LSAC GPA is indicative of my capability. I do have a significant upward trend in GPA though, so I hope that helps. Any advice on what I should do or where to apply? Be nice please :wink:

79radiohead