Work Experience

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschoolboundfuture

Work Experience

Postby lawschoolboundfuture » Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:28 pm

How detrimental is it to apply directly out of college. It seems at top law schools the majority of students have taken at least one year off. I have a lot of internship experience, but i wanted to know if not taking time off will hurt me.

dowu

Re: Work Experience

Postby dowu » Sat Jun 16, 2012 8:07 pm

lawschoolboundfuture wrote:How detrimental is it to apply directly out of college. It seems at top law schools the majority of students have taken at least one year off. I have a lot of internship experience, but i wanted to know if not taking time off will hurt me.

No it will not hurt you. It will not help you either, such as having WE will.

I think WE can be hugely beneficial during OCI, or so I hear.

thelawschoolproject

Postby thelawschoolproject » Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:47 am

lawschoolboundfuture wrote:How detrimental is it to apply directly out of college. It seems at top law schools the majority of students have taken at least one year off. I have a lot of internship experience, but i wanted to know if not taking time off will hurt me.

As the previous poster stated, doing K-JD will not hurt you. However, having quality work experience will benefit you. Internships do not usually count as WE, though.

One thing you might want to consider is your age. If you are graduating early or are significantly younger than the traditional 23/24 year old age then when OCIs roll around you may be at a disadvantage then. It's really your maturity that law schools care about and usually WE is a sign that one has some degree of maturity and can handle themselves in the work place.

With that said, though, most applicants are K-JD which is why it does not hurt you to apply as such.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:57 am