Should I wait to take the LSAT

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
poguemahone66

Should I wait to take the LSAT

Postby poguemahone66 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:44 am

Thanks for taking the time to read this question. Here's the situation....

I am a 41 year old undergrad (history major, polisci minor) entering my senior year this fall with a 4.0 GPA average at the University of Houston. I hope to attend the University of Houston Law school in the fall of 2013 following my senior year.

The 25/75 for UH Law currently is LSAT: 157-163 and GPA: 3.2-3.6.

With the June 11 LSAT a week away I have been studying like mad and my average score on the dozen or so practice exams have been 155 (timed, of course, to reflect as close to real LSAT test conditions as possible).
When I do not time myself, I can achieve 160 or better.

My question is, should I postpone my LSAT if I cannot improve my average between now and test time. Or, should I go ahead and take the LSAT, assuming I can replicate my average on the actual exam, and hope that my GPA will make up for the difference?

The pitfall of course is that if I postpone the LSAT, even though I could devote more time for studying for the LSAT, my score might not improve. Also, there is the possibility that my LSAT score could suffer as a result.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Cheers.

Jredelman15

Re: Should I wait to take the LSAT

Postby Jredelman15 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:47 am

poguemahone66 wrote:Thanks for taking the time to read this question. Here's the situation....

I am a 41 year old undergrad (history major, polisci minor) entering my senior year this fall with a 4.0 GPA average at the University of Houston. I hope to attend the University of Houston Law school in the fall of 2013 following my senior year.

The 25/75 for UH Law currently is LSAT: 157-163 and GPA: 3.2-3.6.