Is it worth it?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ccordero

Is it worth it?

Postby ccordero » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:12 pm

Hi everyone! This is my first post on this forum after months of just lurking through and reading everyone's posts. Happy to be here.

I have a question... but knowing that everyone here is law and/or law school oriented, this question may be prone to some severe sample selection bias but I felt that I would ask anyway if only to get a glimpse of what the general consensus on the answer would be.

Is law school worth it?

To put it into context, I'm a rising senior undergrad at George Washington University with a cumulative GPA of 3.93. I'm studying this summer while working full-time to take the LSATs in October. So far, my plan is to just take the LSATs now while I'm still very academically and study-minded and then just sit on whatever score I get until I am either ready to apply to law school, until the scores are about to expire, or until I get tired of working... whatever comes first.

I've been hearing a lot of bad things about the law job market lately. I recently read an article where a boston law firm posted on the Boston College Law School's career website a job posting that offered about $10,000 in compensation for their associates. (http://finance.yahoo.com/blogs/the-exch ... 53092.html) I know, and the article even says this, that this is a an exception to number of other law firms that pay lavishly. Either way, I'm merely taking it as a sign of the times. Yet... after numerous recent law school grad friends of mine telling me to run far away from law schools because of how difficult it is to actually get a job, I'm starting to actually doubt, or at least question, whether or not all of this is worth it...

I admit, I don't know much about the state of the industry really other than what I've been told, so what do you guys think? Can anyone give me any information or advice on this at all?