LOR from a law librarian?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
totalmajor

LOR from a law librarian?

Postby totalmajor » Fri May 25, 2012 4:26 pm

So I got screwed by my counselor before graduating at the half year mark when it came to choosing classes. I assumed I was ready to graduate until the registrar emailed me saying I'm missing three credit hours a month before the semester is over. I frantically find a professor that'll bring on board for an independent study and thankfully and luckily, I do. Now I'm writing about a certain case in the Supreme Court and as an undergrad, I literally have 0 idea for what I should be doing so I start going to the law library down at school.

The guy at the reference desk who has been a great help with finding resources has told me numerous times that he's pretty impressed with the work I've accomplished as an undergrad when it comes to the trial (especially within this period of time). I've probably been meeting / emailing him about this over the last 2 or so weeks (when I started writing this paper) and the idea of an LOR popped into my head. I feel like he's a pretty reputable person with an JD, LLM, MSLIS from good schools.

Is it worth asking? I'm terrible at this sort of stuff so I never know if I'm making a good call or not.

Summary: Writing a 30 pager, needed help from law reference desk, impressed with what I've done as an undergrad, should I ask him for a LOR?

Thanks

JDizzle2015

Re: LOR from a law librarian?

Postby JDizzle2015 » Fri May 25, 2012 6:35 pm

My concern is that he only knows you for two weeks. If you truly feel that he is the best person to speak to your academic potential in law school (and since I doubt he'll bring up the fact that he barely knows you), it could be an option. I think you should still try to use a professor from a real class that has known you for more than a few weeks.

Postby 2014 » Sun May 27, 2012 12:03 am