Do I need an academic LOR?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
shifty_eyed

Do I need an academic LOR?

Postby shifty_eyed » Fri May 25, 2012 10:47 am

I graduated in May 2010, so by Fall 2013 I will have been out of school for 3 years. I don't have a great GPA, but there is a professor that agreed to write me a LOR last year (but I never followed through with him because I decided not to apply). I went to a small school, but I didn't really build any good relationships with any professors besides that one, and I didn't follow up with him, so he might think I'm flaky now.

I can definitely get two or more glowing recommendations from my current job.

What should I do?

Kikero

Re: Do I need an academic LOR?

Postby Kikero » Fri May 25, 2012 10:50 am

You'll want at least 1 academic LOR. It might be different if you had been graduated for 10+ years, but 2010 isn't really that long a time ago.

Nova

Postby Nova » Fri May 25, 2012 10:55 am

Hey, Im like you. Graduated spring '10. Didnt really know any profs well. Had a prof write me a letter of rec for a grad program. Ultimately did not go to grad school. Didnt want to ask that prof again, because we really were not that close (and the letter he wrote me the 1st time was a bare skeleton). So, I had both my current bosses, who i work with every day, write my LORs. It worked out fine. My cycle went better than I expected (out performed numbers). So I would say, NO, you dont NEED academic LORs. However, it would be ideal to have at least one.

shifty_eyed

Postby shifty_eyed » Fri May 25, 2012 10:57 am

Kikero wrote:You'll want at least 1 academic LOR. It might be different if you had been graduated for 10+ years, but 2010 isn't really that long a time ago.

That's what I was afraid of.

shifty_eyed

Postby shifty_eyed » Fri May 25, 2012 10:59 am