Study Abroad Addendum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
anellis

Study Abroad Addendum

Postby anellis » Sun May 20, 2012 10:55 am

I studied abroad during my junior year and received less than stellar grades. It looks like from what I've seen in other forums that lsac won't ask for the transcript and neither will most other schools, but Columbia will. Since they're my top choice this presents a bit of a problem for me. Should I include an addendum to explain the grades or do you think calling attention to it in that way is a bad idea? Are they even really going to look at it?

ilovesf

Re: Study Abroad Addendum

Postby ilovesf » Sun May 20, 2012 11:09 am

anellis wrote:I studied abroad during my junior year and received less than stellar grades. It looks like from what I've seen in other forums that lsac won't ask for the transcript and neither will most other schools, but Columbia will. Since they're my top choice this presents a bit of a problem for me. Should I include an addendum to explain the grades or do you think calling attention to it in that way is a bad idea? Are they even really going to look at it?

Is there a real reason your grades dropped? Generally it's "I was in a country where the drinking age was 18 and basically didn't exist. I was too busy day drinking and traveling to open a book."

oaken

Postby oaken » Sun May 20, 2012 12:06 pm

anellis wrote:I studied abroad during my junior year and received less than stellar grades. It looks like from what I've seen in other forums that lsac won't ask for the transcript and neither will most other schools, but Columbia will. Since they're my top choice this presents a bit of a problem for me. Should I include an addendum to explain the grades or do you think calling attention to it in that way is a bad idea? Are they even really going to look at it?