Ranking vs. Success (GW vs. American)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kglick

Ranking vs. Success (GW vs. American)

Postby kglick » Thu May 17, 2012 1:55 pm

I am an incoming JD student who is debating between George Washington University and American University. Both are top 5 international law schools, but GW is ranked much higher overall. I believe I can rank much higher in my class at American, but I am told the job prospects are much better coming out of GW. For recruiters, how much is class rank weighted compared to school ranking? Also, I feel like the competition at GW will be much fiercer and cutthroat. Is this something I should take into consideration? Any thoughts are welcome. Thanks.

stillwater

Re: Ranking vs. Success (GW vs. American)

Postby stillwater » Thu May 17, 2012 1:57 pm

kglick wrote:I am an incoming JD student who is debating between George Washington University and American University. Both are top 5 international law schools, but GW is ranked much higher overall. I believe I can rank much higher in my class at American, but I am told the job prospects are much better coming out of GW. For recruiters, how much is class rank weighted compared to school ranking? Also, I feel like the competition at GW will be much fiercer and cutthroat. Is this something I should take into consideration? Any thoughts are welcome. Thanks.

You won't be going into "international law" as a practice area. Specialty rankings don't matter. Never assume you'll place better in the class at a lower ranked school. Never spit into the wind, etc., etc.

GW is the TCR here (subject to proper pricing).
Last edited by stillwater on Thu May 17, 2012 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bmore

Postby bmore » Thu May 17, 2012 1:58 pm

Do not assume you will do better at American.
Int'l Law "ranking" means nothing.
Competiton should be fierce everywhere.

top30man

Postby top30man » Thu May 17, 2012 2:06 pm