40 year old law school applicant worried about GPA

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
johmica

40 year old law school applicant worried about GPA

Postby johmica » Thu May 17, 2012 7:12 am

I graduated undergraduate school with a dismal 3.25 GPA in the year 2000. I then went on to complete a year of graduate work with a 4.0 Graduate GPA, before having children and finding a real job. Those children are now of ages that allow me to reconsider returning to academia. I'm seriously considering law school, with a matriculation date of 2014 (my wife still has a year and a half of undergrad work to complete before I get my turn).

I have always been a gifted test taker. I scored a 2200 on the GRE back in 2000, with a perfect 800 on the analytical section. I recently took a timed diagnostic LSAT and scored a 171, after years out of academia. I feel relatively confident that, with almost a year of regular study, I can score between 178 - 180 on the June 2013 LSAT. So now my question.

Would a perfect or near-perfect LSAT score effectively counteract my 13 year old GPA in the eyes of admissions committees? I really have my heart set on the University of Chicago, and would like to think that a perfect LSAT score would make me a shoe-in, but would like a realistic assessment of my chances from those with more experience than me.

Thanks for any help you may offer.

LSATNightmares

Re: 40 year old law school applicant worried about GPA

Postby LSATNightmares » Thu May 17, 2012 7:27 am

I think it would. I think they would be impressed that your LSAT is so high after being out of school for so many years. You can demonstrate focus, hard work, and maturity (the elements for grades) just through your career since school. But I think you'll have to convince them, why law school? Why now?

nygrrrl

Postby nygrrrl » Thu May 17, 2012 8:09 am