Getting into US Law School out of Canadian University

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ConcernedHabsFan

Getting into US Law School out of Canadian University

Postby ConcernedHabsFan » Fri May 04, 2012 2:42 pm

Hi,

I'm a recent college grad, and I'm unsure of what to really do with my future. I haven't had any jobs I've really liked, and having a sort of mid-twenties crisis. Recently some of my friends that are lawyers suggested I apply to law school, but I don't think I have good enough grades. They say that it's still possible to get in with high LSAT scores, but they're all much older than me (in their mid to late thirties) so I'm not sure they're that aware of the current admissions process of law schools.

My grades are extremely mediocre. I have a 67.9%, which out of my Canadian University is a C+ (I'm .1% away from a B-). The class average in my faculty typically is 70%. The people in the faculty are scaled, so out of a class of 200 people in a Political Science 101 class for instance, only like 3-5 will be allowed to break 90%, with the vast majority of students sitting at 65-72%. And in order to "declare" oneself a Political Science major before Year 3, you typically have to have around a 70% to give you an idea of what that percentage means.

Also, I read that some US colleges allow for a bad grade to be replaced if you retake the class, but at my school all grades count towards graduating GPA. For instance, they put me in fourth year French in order to graduate due to my high school transcript, and I had to take French twice because my High School French class was really a fraud of a class, so the F from the first time is sitting on my transcript. But, aside from that 1 instance I don't really have an excuse for my mediocre grades, they're there because I enjoyed college life a little too much, so no family trouble/hardships I can write to Law School Admissions about.