PhD Student looking at law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wkentkovac

New

PhD Student looking at law

Post by wkentkovac » Tue May 01, 2012 5:00 pm

Hey,

Academic Background:
BS Microbiology (Research)
BA Theatre Arts (Acting & Technical)
Minor: Biochemistry, Mathematics, & Applied Physics
GPA: 2.35

Current PhD Student
Plant Biology / Systems Biology
GPA: 3.78

I am a PhD student currently in Plant Biology/Systems Biology and I want to go to law school. I am very interested in Patent Law (specifically in Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Patents, Patent Litigation, and Patent Prep).

I am posting because I am looking for advice and on how the application process for law school will account my undergraduate verses graduate GPA as well as what I can do during the next 2 years to prepare myself for the application process. My undergraduate GPA was a 2.35 and my graduate GPA is now a 3.78. Would these be considered equally? Averaged? My graduate courses added into my undergraduate course work? I looked around online and have found little help for those who will have a PhD when applying to law school.

I have taken a practice LSAT through my university and scored a 160 without going through a prep course.

Beyond going through the prep course and taking the LSAT, what else should I do to make myself more marketable to law schools and patent programs? My PhD work will produce a few process and tool patents as I complete my work, will this help? Should I become more involved in the actual patenting processes here? Also, when should I actually take the LSAT, is it better or worse to take it sooner (in the next year) or wait until I am closer to my application date? Also, hopefully there are some patent lawyers looking over this question, would it behoove me to finish the PhD or drop to a Master's and apply sooner? Will this help or hinder me in the process, will having the dual PhD make me more marketable?