Alcohol Arrests Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
peaches10

New

Alcohol Arrests

Post by peaches10 » Tue May 01, 2012 4:21 pm

I have been arrested twice:

Once for public intoxication and disorderly conduct and again about 7 months later for public intoxication. I am currently on a years worth of probation that expires in March '13.

I plan to apply as a class of '16 law student and am wondering how these arrests will affect my admission and bar passage.

Fairly repetitive question, but I see it asked by a lot of individuals who are several years removed from their undergrad education/arrests. I'm still an undergrad and will be on probation while my application is reviewed.

Thanks in advance for the help!

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Alcohol Arrests

Post by CanadianWolf » Tue May 01, 2012 4:29 pm

State bar associations tend to understand tax & alcohol (substance abuse) issues. Very forgiving if you seek & complete treatment & remain free of further infractions. DUI, however, is not taken as lightly.

crEEp

Bronze

Post by crEEp » Tue May 01, 2012 10:33 pm

As long as you don't fuck up in law school (and believe me, this is a legitimate challenge...), the bar won't give you a hard time. They care more about habitual offenders whose actions call into question their ability to uphold the standards of the profession. What I do suggest is to keep a "shit happens" file folder with certified copies of the final dispositions from these matters (along with all traffic tickets and other stuff). You can get this from the clerk's office at the adjudicating courts, and believe me, future you will be absurdly grateful.

bp shinners

Gold

Post by bp shinners » Wed May 02, 2012 2:25 pm

CanadianWolf wrote:Very forgiving if you seek & complete treatment & remain free of further infractions.

BearsGrl

Gold

Post by BearsGrl » Wed May 02, 2012 2:28 pm

peaches10 wrote:I have been arrested twice: