Should I go to law school? Brutal honesty welcome Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
daisuki

New

Should I go to law school? Brutal honesty welcome

Post by daisuki » Fri Apr 27, 2012 1:19 am

I put a fair amount of prep into the lsat and scored in the mid 160's, retook and scored in the higher 160's. My 3.3 GPA is killing me

I was shut out of the T14, I'm waitlisted at one still but not holding my breath. Live in and want to stay in CA, obviously I'm not getting into Boalt or S

Even if I were admitted the debt scares the hell out of me.

I'm a veteran and did get a full ride to my local T50-ish school , and the GI Bill would take care of living expenses (around 2k / mo for the whole 3 years)

I currently make 70k in a defense-related industry that I could most likely go back to if law school didn't work out (I would drop out if not in the top 20% or so of my TT law school and believe me I would). Limited research has shown that that would be the cutoff for a decent legal job in the area if I was unable to make the cut to transfer out

I'm hearing terrible things about the legal industry everywhere on the internet, but I do occasionally read that a scholarship like this can be worth taking

I have considered an MBA as well but have not started GMAT prep yet, and I'm not getting any younger (early 30's - this also pretty much rules out a retake)

I think being a lawyer sounds genuinely interesting and more like a real career than what I do now, but plenty of posters on this board and others have told me it's awful soul-killing drudgery most likely for very low pay

That said, I am a fairly smart dude and have excelled at most jobs I've had, although apparently law school grades are a black box and I could just as easily be below median even if I work extremely hard. I'm thinking the worst case scenario is a year out I'm going back into the same industry I'm in now. I've been improving my resume in this field as a safety net just in case