FROSH at IU, Interested in Law School, Advice? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HarvardHopeful93

New

FROSH at IU, Interested in Law School, Advice?

Post by HarvardHopeful93 » Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:46 pm

Hi guys!

This is my first post on the board. I stumbled upon this website the other day and I've fallen in love with it haha. So here's my story. I'm a freshman at Indiana University-Bloomington. I'm majoring in Political Science (B.A.) and will be getting a minor in either History or Philosophy. I might be doing some political internships this summer for the mayor of my local town, and hope to get to D.C. as part of an IU-DC internship program.

Anyways...I want to go to law school. And not just any law school. I want to go T14. But not just any T14, I want to go to Harvard Law School. I think if I study hard enough and prepare well, I could get a 175+ on the LSAT. And I would have to...

My GPA for Semester 1 was 2.25. Ouch :o But this semester I'm on track for at least a 3.2. It would be higher but math is holding me back. After this semester though, it's all degree courses, things that are interesting to me. If I got an A- in every class for Semesters 3-8, I would have a 3.7 MINIMUM cumulative. I calculated it out...If I could maintain around a 3.85 GPA from here on out, and if I got a 3.2 this semester, I would have a 3.75 cumulative, excluding my 1st semester of FR year. If you include that, it would drop to a 3.56.

I spoke to a pre-law advisor and he said if I wrote a "letter of addendum" explaining my first semester blunder (difficult classes, tough transition to college, homesick, etc.) and said something like "here is my S2-S8 GPA and it's 3.75", they would be willing to overlook Semester 1.

Am I screwed? Or is there hope? Would even Harvard be willing to re-calculate the GPA without my first semester if I put a letter of addendum?
I REALLY want to go to Harvard, but at the very LEAST, a top 14 law school. Can I do it?