Application Advice! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hopelesslyconfused2

New

Application Advice!

Post by hopelesslyconfused2 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:49 pm

Hello TLS!

I'm applying in the next cycle and was wondering if I could get some input. I'm a 175+ student with a 3.9+ GPA targetting HYSCC. Initially I was going to focus my application on my technical background (biomedical engineering) as why I want to enter law (Patents are bullcrap.) However, I've recently heard advice that it might be beneficial to somehow incorporate my backstory into my application:

So here's the deal, I'm Iraqi born from a father that was in the government in the late 80's to mid 90's (a good guy, he was involved in a state-owned manufacturing company which classified him as a 'government official', nothing political or related to military/abusing people). When due to health reasons I needed medical care unavailable, we found ourselves in the unfortunate position of not being able to go to any country in the west, being denied any form of visa for obvious reasons. Upon repeated positioning among other things, we were finally able to come to America, and thus I learned to love this country.

I've been advised by a friend in HYS right now who is familiar with the story that it might be helpful in the application, I'm not so sure. Now I've never used that as a sob story before or looked for sympathy, but I'd love any edge I can get for HYS! Any thoughts on if/how I should incorporate that into a PS/Diversity statement?

PS: We all hate Saddam so please no trollage.

Thanks!

CodyRuegger

New

Re: Application Advice!

Post by CodyRuegger » Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:16 am

I think you might want to check this board out: http://top-law-schools.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=18

While I'm here though, my personal opinion is that your life story would probably be much more fascinating to read than yet another patent law statement from a science major.

bernaldiaz

Gold