Plans for Law School in the Future Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Fwinning

New

Plans for Law School in the Future

Post by Fwinning » Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:01 am

Long time viewer, first time posted. I'd appreciate any input.

First, I thought I'd start out by saying that I do NOT have any immediate plans for applying to law school. I am an undergraduate (senior year) who has come to the realization that my grades just aren't up to par for law school (2.8 gpa at my current school, 2.3 gpa overall :oops: ). I'm not one of those posters who are overly optimistic of banging out an incredible LSAT score and managing to get into a low ranked law school with high debt, low job prospect. I'm a realist and realize that my early years undergraduate years of partying and lack of dedication to school has led me in a direction of a more "typical" occupation, instead of a high prestige occupation of being an attorney. I can accept that. Here is what I plan on doing and again, any input/suggestions are appreciated:

I've always had a passion for the law field. I'm a Justice Studies major with a minor in Sociology and plan on becoming a real estate paralegal after graduation. I will be highly qualified for a well-paying Real-Estate Paralegal position (Internship, BA degree, real estate license, and Paralegal certificate) and will take that route after graduation. The problem that I am having is that I don't want to becoming a paralegal for 25-30 years. Becoming a paralegal is an occupation I don't mind obtaining immediately after undergraduate school, pursue it for 5-10 years, and then move on to something better.