The Pros of Corporate Law? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
R2-D2

New

The Pros of Corporate Law?

Post by R2-D2 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:04 pm

I'm a sophomore in college, and I've been considering Corporate Law for a while now. All I've been hearing about is how BigLaw is boring, uninteresting, and not fun, as well as a ton of billable hours, and no vacation or family time. But what are some of the positives of BigLaw? I would think that if you can make it there, starting out making $100-160K as a 25 year old really isn't that bad at all. What are some of the more positive sides of Corporate Law? It seems like a great way to make a living in your 20s.

ToTransferOrNot

Gold

Re: The Pros of Corporate Law?

Post by ToTransferOrNot » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:07 pm

R2-D2 wrote:I'm a sophomore in college, and I've been considering Corporate Law for a while now. All I've been hearing about is how BigLaw is boring, uninteresting, and not fun, as well as a ton of billable hours, and no vacation or family time. But what are some of the positives of BigLaw? I would think that if you can make it there, starting out making $100-160K as a 25 year old really isn't that bad at all. What are some of the more positive sides of Corporate Law? It seems like a great way to make a living in your 20s.
You gloss over the money as if there are any other good sides--or that there need to be any other good sides, for that matter.

(I'll leave the other "you won't get biglaw and thus will be crushed under a mountain of debt" talking points to others. Calling MTal.)

ThreeRivers

Silver

Post by ThreeRivers » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:11 pm

I'm a 0L so not really qualified at all so take my advice with a grain of sault (others that respond will be more knowledgable).

From what I gather, it's a sick gig for a 20's something with no so / kids. You make bank / collect dough / pay off loans. Yea, you work long hours but still able to go out some and enjoy life.