Getting a W

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
salmank

Getting a W

Postby salmank » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:29 am

Hey all,

I had a quick question about getting a W. I was a pre-med student that wants to switch over to pre-law. This decision was not made due to difficulty of courses, or because stress or anything like that (just want to clarify), but because of an epiphany of sorts in regarding how I want to spend the rest of my life. My current semester includes two difficult Science classes. I can drop one of them, but I was wondering if it would look bad to have a W on my transcript for a class that I don't really need at all. It would not count as an elective or anything. What would you advise?

Tiago Splitter

Re: Getting a W

Postby Tiago Splitter » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:37 am

If it's a non-punitive withdrawal no one will care.

If the withdrawal is considered punitive then it will be considered an "F" when figuring your LSAC GPA. If that's the case, just hang in there and tough it out for the rest of the semester.

edwards711

Postby edwards711 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:41 am

Tiago Splitter wrote:If it's a non-punitive withdrawal no one will care.

If the withdrawal is considered punitive then it will be considered an "F" when figuring your LSAC GPA. If that's the case, just hang in there and tough it out for the rest of the semester.

This. I made the mistake of using W's and P/NP when I was sick before knowing about LSDAS calculations - they demolished my GPA.If it will be punitive, try to tough it out.

Jaeger

Postby Jaeger » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:43 am

salmank wrote:Hey all,