Improving softs for PI Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Skunky Bumps

New

Improving softs for PI

Post by Skunky Bumps » Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:52 am

Hey TLS! Right now I'm sitting on a 172 and what I believe will be a 3.78-3.8 GPA at the conclusion of this school year. I'm looking to crack Stanford when I apply for the 2012-13 cycle. As an undergrad without any WE besides summer work, I'm trying to make up for it with some decent softs to show my passion for PI. I am currently a student representative for my school's judiciaries process and I interned for the local Public Defender's office fall quarter. Other than volunteering this summer at a local PI-related firm (which I plan on doing), what else can I do to improve my softs? Thanks!

Doorkeeper

Gold

Re: Improving softs for PI

Post by Doorkeeper » Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:13 am

I hate to be the harbringer of bad news, but Stanford will be extremely difficult to get with your GPA/LSAT combination unless you are a URM. Stanford really looks for high GPAs, and really only makes exceptions to that if you are in the 177+ LSAT or have some great softs.

worldtraveler

Platinum

Post by worldtraveler » Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:42 pm

Well what exactly is your passion for PI? What do you want to do? Why?

basketball law guy

New

Post by basketball law guy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:09 pm

I have a similar question. I posted in another thread but will repeat my background:
Completing my third year of undergrad at a midwestern college and I play basketball (on scholarship). My basketball season runs September -last week. My other softs would be different volunteer activities (youth camps, nursing homes, elementary school volunteer reader, etc.). Taking LSAT in October so I will have the summer to study and prepare. Current GPA is 3.98. If I am looking to get into a T25 school, assuming I get a decent LSAT score, is this enough for my application? Thanks

Skunky Bumps

New