To take the W, or not to take the W...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
findmethepage

To take the W, or not to take the W...

Postby findmethepage » Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:57 pm

I'm currently a first-year undergrad at a T5 university trying to decide whether or not to take a W right now. I'm currently looking to get a C- in Calculus right now, and am seriously considering taking a withdrawal on this. We're on the quarter system here, so my grades last quarter looked like: B+, B+, and C (that was in calc again). I realize how much getting a C- on my second quarter would hurt my GPA (though it would be my final quarter of math), and considering I want to go to a T14, one of equitable reputation to my current Uni, that worries me.This quarter my grades will probably look like B+, B+, A-, and C- if I don't take the W. I'm looking to be a polysci major, so maybe the admissions staff would sympathize with my math grade if I didn't take the W?

So what would look worse, the W (which might make them think I was failing the course, or a second C in Calculus (even though I'm going to be in a major devoid of math)?[list=][/list]
Last edited by findmethepage on Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: To take the W, or not to take the W...

Postby 20121109 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:00 pm