Lawyer who uses a foreign language? Value of Arabic?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
journolaw

Lawyer who uses a foreign language? Value of Arabic?

Postby journolaw » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:23 pm

Hi

I'm a US citizen considering attending law school in 3-4 years to try to start a new career. I'm currently a journalist.

One legal career I'm considering is international corporate law. The idea of working with clients in other countries, of learning a new culture and of having the opportunity to take on major transnational clients appeals to me.

But is it at all practical? If I had 3-4 years of Arabic study -- with an Eastern dialect -- would this actually put me in a position to be able to do this type of work?

How can someone thinking about being a lawyer also think about incorporating foreign-language skills into a job?

:mrgreen:

OmarLittle

Re: Lawyer who uses a foreign language? Value of Arabic?

Postby OmarLittle » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:32 am

I'm wondering the same thing. I've put a lot of time into studying Latin American Spanish, and I'm hopeful that it will somehow help me in my career as well, in either international law or criminal law (ideally I would want to be that scumbag that defends war criminals, as evil as that sounds). I'd even pursue an additional language if it gave me a career boost.

No13baby

Postby No13baby » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:56 pm

The easiest way to use a foreign language in your law practice is probably either immigration law or doing transactional work at a big firm, as OP suggested. Doing stuff at the ICC or the UN or whatever is not a realistic option.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:53 pm

No13baby wrote:Doing stuff at the ICC or the UN or whatever is not a realistic option.

Yea, getting those jobs is going to be very rare.