My softs - helpful?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
doclover

My softs - helpful?

Postby doclover » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:16 pm

I'm wondering how much my softs will help me, particularly with schools that are focused on environmental law (Berkeley, Stanford). I graduated in urban planning. I will be applying for Fall 2013.

Thanks to all who weighed in - I appreciate it!
Last edited by doclover on Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: My softs - helpful?

Postby 03121202698008 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:18 pm

They will help very little with admissions. It's virtually all LSAT/GPA and these aren't really significant sorts anyhow. They may help more with OCI if you're trying to stay in that field.

doclover

Postby doclover » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:20 pm

blowhard wrote:They will help very little with admissions. It's virtually all LSAT/GPA and these aren't really significant sorts anyhow. They may help more with OCI if you're trying to stay in that field.

I have a 3.8 GPA - LSAT score TBD. So basically, schools don't care unless you make it past the initial filter?

spleenworship

Postby spleenworship » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:36 pm

doclover wrote:
blowhard wrote:They will help very little with admissions. It's virtually all LSAT/GPA and these aren't really significant sorts anyhow. They may help more with OCI if you're trying to stay in that field.

I have a 3.8 GPA - LSAT score TBD. So basically, schools don't care unless you make it past the initial filter?

The only thing your softs would be good for is getting into NU as work experience.

Unless you have a nobel prize or something similar, the average school could give not a single f&^k about your softs except as a tie breaker (ie. you have a 3.8 and a 169; the next candidate has a 3.8 and a 169, but no softs. You win. Mozel Tov.)

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:44 pm