Does Working at a T20 Law Firm Help? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
echamberlin8

Bronze

Does Working at a T20 Law Firm Help?

Post by echamberlin8 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:31 pm

I have a question. How much does working at a good law firm (I work at the #15 law firm on the American Lawyer A-list as a project assistant/entry-level paralegal...been here a little over a month) help my chances of getting into a solid law school (T14). I have a 3.73 undergrad GPA (I graduated in '09), and just started working at this law firm. I intend to apply for fall '13. I haven't taken my LSATs yet, but am hoping to do them in June.

Just curious.

splitbrain

Silver

Re: Does Working at a T20 Law Firm Help?

Post by splitbrain » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:41 pm

Fair question. It'll help a bit but it's going to take a back seat to your LSAT, GPA, and personal statement. It'll probably help you more during OCI.

Ludo!

Gold

Post by Ludo! » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:41 pm

Having work experience of any kind is a good soft to have, but ultimately it's not going to matter nearly as much as your gpa and lsat. When it comes time for OCI though, it will be a nice boost.

Also, just say you work at a V25 law firm, nobody uses that A-list thing.

duckmoney

Silver

Post by duckmoney » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:41 pm

It does not help you. It will put you in the running, but nothing to distinguish you from the other thousands of very well qualified candidates applying to the T14 law schools.

Do really well on the "LSATs" if you want to get in to a top school.

echamberlin8

Bronze

Post by echamberlin8 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:46 pm

Ludovico Technique wrote:Having work experience of any kind is a good soft to have, but ultimately it's not going to matter nearly as much as your gpa and lsat. When it comes time for OCI though, it will be a nice boost.

Also, just say you work at a V25 law firm, nobody uses that A-list thing.
Interesting. Well, I'm glad I work at a V25 one too.