DS about IDF service - too late?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Mista Bojangles

DS about IDF service - too late?

Postby Mista Bojangles » Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:48 am

I served as a sharpshooter in the Israeli army, and was deployed on the Gazan border until honorable discharge about two months ago. I applied to schools back in September (no, it wasn't easy to do apps while in the army), applying to the T6 and hoping for HYS - numbers are 3.8/179.
I'm an American with no Israeli citizenship and no formal ties to Israel, and I volunteered in the IDF with the intention to return to the US permanently after service. I realize this gives me a highly unusual profile, for better or for worse.

While applying I strongly considered writing a DS (I know they are generally for URM applicants, but figure my background is unusual enough to justify adding one) but didn't - mainly because I didn't quite feel prepared to evaluate what my army experience meant to me as I hadn't yet been discharged and was in the middle of a difficult deployment.

Now I've been discharged and have had a couple months to reflect. Is it too late to send a DS to the schools I'm still waiting on? I'm in at all of CCN (and know I'm quite blessed to have these options already) but on hold at H and silence from YS. Any thoughts appreciated.

mattviphky

Re: DS about IDF service - too late?

Postby mattviphky » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:05 pm

Did you mention your service in your Personal Statement?

Mista Bojangles

Postby Mista Bojangles » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:29 pm