change of major Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hannahella91

New

change of major

Post by hannahella91 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi everyone,

I am currently a sophomore and am considering changing my major to social work. I am just worried that the change may hurt my chances of being accepted into law school? I am currently studying agriculture but the science classes are beginning hurt my GPA. I was just wondering if changing my major to social work would hurt me in anyway?

Thanks!

AntipodeanPhil

Silver

Re: change of major

Post by AntipodeanPhil » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:51 pm

Get the best GPA you can - don't worry about your major.

If possible, you should also take classes that help you develop LSAT-relevant skills (reading and reasoning intensive), but only if that won't hurt your GPA.

JDizzle2015

Silver

Post by JDizzle2015 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:53 pm

Law school admissions officers don't seem to care about your major. Change it if it'll help your GPA.

ETA: I was a business/finance major and took some formal logic courses. Depending on how your professor teaches it, it could help on the LSAT but not nearly as much as just studying powerscore or going through a quality prep course. Taking logic classes in UG only because it might help LSAT prep is a waste of credits/tuition money, imo.

If you're really interested in different processes to logically prove whether or not "good" exists or Latin names for LSAT concepts (e.g. modus ponens/tollens) then go for it. As someone who focused on commerce in my other UG classes, I found the metaphysical discussions a bit absurd.

KingsBench

New

Post by KingsBench » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:25 pm

AntipodeanPhil wrote:Get the best GPA you can - don't worry about your major.

If possible, you should also take classes that help you develop LSAT-relevant skills (reading and reasoning intensive), but only if that won't hurt your GPA.
TITCR.

AntipodeanPhil

Silver