(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
SYoshi11

Postby SYoshi11 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:51 pm

Last edited by SYoshi11 on Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:15 am, edited 2 times in total.

Perdevise

Re: Consulting to Law School

Postby Perdevise » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:25 pm

I have no experience in the matter, but I've read in these fora that experience at a top consulting firm is a HYS-worthy soft.

icpb

Postby icpb » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:30 pm

Perdevise wrote:I have no experience in the matter, but I've read in these fora that experience at a top consulting firm is a HYS-worthy soft.

I heard that applies only to MBB though.

Nelson

Postby Nelson » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:33 pm

Perdevise wrote:I have no experience in the matter, but I've read in these fora that experience at a top consulting firm is a HYS-worthy soft.

This is a chicken and egg thing though because big three consulting is full of Ivy League grads with great GPAs.

OP work experience is never a bad idea. At worst, you don't like it much and you apply two years from now with some cash and something to talk about at OCI.

SYoshi11

Postby SYoshi11 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:41 pm

Last edited by SYoshi11 on Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nelson

Postby Nelson » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:46 pm

SYoshi11 wrote:Thanks for the responses.

With regards to it being a viable soft, I have a friend who had 4.0 168, went to Deloitte out of UG, and is now at Stanford Law....take from that what you will.

To be honest, I'm less concerned with whether it will help my law school chances, than I am with the question of whether its something people would recommend doing. I think postponing anything for two years of your life is a pretty big decision.

Two years is no time at all really. Any work experience will make you a more desirable OCI candidate than a K-JD. That said, most Deloitte folks I know are miserable and overworked doing menial scutwork so it sounds like a decent preview of biglaw.

monkey85