Letter of Recommendation

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wallflower1987

Letter of Recommendation

Postby wallflower1987 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:53 am

I hate to post a horror story, but I had a letter of recommendation submitted on January 23rd, then again via overnight mail on January 30th, then finally had it faxed Wednesday, February 15th. It still has not posted, and hopefully it will today (February 21st), but otherwise I'm sending it directly to all the schools.

Just a warning to other applicants: do not trust LSAC with these letters of recommendation. They say two weeks, but that isn't true. You will get a lot of different answers if you call them and ask; some say don't fax because it will not come through and be legible, the next person will say to fax it. And if they tell you to wait, send it again.

All this comes from waiting to ask for letters of recommendation; I waited for the December LSAT score because I'm a grad student and didn't want to bother professors until I knew for sure I would be able to go. That was stupid. If you think you want to go to law school, ask for your recommendations early, even if it's like July the year prior. Get those posted so that they do not hold you up; my applications have been on hold now for two weeks at some schools because they will not review without that second letter, and everybody who is waiting right now knows how long those two weeks have been.