Advice on Re-applying Next Cycle Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
masked kavana

Bronze

Advice on Re-applying Next Cycle

Post by masked kavana » Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:12 pm

Barring miracle acceptances at Harvard (hold) or Cornell (reserve) which I seriously doubt will happen :( my cycle is pretty much over.

I applied with a 2.42/167 and have so far gotten into:

UMinn 23k/yr. scholarship
W&M 6k/yr
L&C 11k/yr
WF 10k/yr

and WL at Hastings.

I have been able to retroactively withdraw from a lot of my old classes because I was undiagnosed as bipolar and my GPA went up to a 3.17 (I may be able to bump it a bit more in the future as this is my last semester in UG and I have a couple of F's and D's I may still be able to withdraw from)

So should I sit out this year and reapply for next? Would the acceptances be any different?

I'm a non-traditional student non-URM Latino.

tl;dr applied with 2.42/167 this cycle did ok, should I reapply next cycle with a 3.17/167? Would the schools that accept/reject me change?

Thanks for the help!

GatorCTS

Bronze

Re: Advice on Re-applying Next Cycle

Post by GatorCTS » Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:22 pm

I would def hold off until next year. With such a drastic change in your GPA it will greatly enhance your odds at many other schools. Not only will you be able to apply to different schools, your scholarship opportunities also increase with a higher GPA. Get a job in the meantime and try to save up some money. Also apply early next year and you will be in good shape. Unless you are truly set on going this year and like the schools you have been admitted to, wait a year.

moneybagsphd

Silver

Post by moneybagsphd » Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:24 pm

Also retake.

Doorkeeper

Gold

Post by Doorkeeper » Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:37 pm