T14 now vs. reapplication/consulting

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
TennesseeBob

T14 now vs. reapplication/consulting

Postby TennesseeBob » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi all,

I've been accepted to one of MVP at sticker for next year and also have an offer to work in the consulting field (don't want to get too specific). This cycle (except for the MVP acceptance) didn't work out as I had planned due to an LSAT score that (while still decent by non-TLS standards) was much much lower than I was anticipating based of of 50 practice tests (and some other practice ones) where I was scoring in the mid 170s decently consistently. I have close to a 4.0 from a top UG school and with a higher LSAT score, I figure there is a chance I could have gotten a little bit of scholarship money or perhaps acceptance into a "higher" ranked T14.

Considering how much some of these schools cost at sticker (I'm still a student) and the job market right now, does anyone have advice for someone still in UG like myself?

MrAnon

Re: T14 now vs. reapplication/consulting

Postby MrAnon » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:44 pm

law school will always be around. jobs will not. take the job if you have one available. can always go to law school later.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:46 pm

Take the job and retake. You'll save yourself from ending up in so much debt (since you can get scholarships and can use money from your job) and you'll have better employment prospects (either by going to be a better school, possibly HYS, or by having decent work experience that will set you apart from your K-JD peers).

minnesotamike

Postby minnesotamike » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:46 pm

Do consulting, network like a boss, and spend the rest of your life hiring lawyers instead of being one.

TennesseeBob

Postby TennesseeBob » Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:07 pm

could a reapplication hurt my chances at the MVP I got into or are these type of schools generally OK with that?