How will this GPA trend be interpreted?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Sloth Hero

How will this GPA trend be interpreted?

Postby Sloth Hero » Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:28 pm

Hello,

First off, I have no idea how Law Schools generally read GPA's, GPA trends, etc. Also I have no idea whether to comment on my own undergraduate experience or not.

Quick story: When I was a freshman I knew exactly what I wanted to study: philosophy and economics. But being dumb and naive I let my "advisor" talk me into taking only intro classes and liberal requirements so I could have an "easy first year". Well, I wasn't intellectually stimulated at ALL by ANY of my classes, stopped going to class because it was a waste of time, became super disheartened about college in general. So I did pretty poorly -- got a 3.2 without doing ANYTHING.

Come sophomore year I took all upper-division philosophy and economics courses. I became enthralled with the material, and despite the massive difficulty gap, my GPA skyrocketed. Come junior year, I had narrowed down my interests with the fields, took VERY challenging classes, and got a 4.0

Trend kinda looks like:
Freshman year: 3.2
Sophomore year: 3.8
Junior year : 4.0

Current GPA: 3.7

Assuming I'll get a 4.0 again senior year, (the only classes that could threaten this would be Modal/Paraconsistent Logic and the Neuroethics seminar, but idgaf and am taking them anyways) how much will they discredit my poor performance freshman year given the strong upward trend, the positive correlation between gpa/difficulty of classes, and the fact that my interests/passion shows pretty clearly through my transcript alone?

I'll blanket t14 schools, but I am really interested in NYU, Columbia, Chicago, Stanford -- so if anyone has specifics about their interpretive framework, please let me know.