Admissions possibilities?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cath_low

Admissions possibilities?

Postby cath_low » Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:24 am

Hi everyone -

I have a unique situation I was hoping you all could shed some light on. I am a current senior in undergrad. I am a Biomedical Engineering major, with a minor in Anthropology, UGPA of 3.0 (EXTREMELY science intensive course load). I took the LSAT and received a 172.

I recently decided to go to law school this past year. I had intended to pursue a masters and perhaps teach, but after shadowing an IP attorney I fell in love with the possibilities of blending science and law.

I will be applying this upcoming cycle (fall 2012).

What are my likely acceptances?? I live in Michigan. I have some very solid "soft" admission factors as well, but am unsure of how these will all blend together (especially considering the course content of my major). I have publication reviewed research, extensive philanthropy involvement, and held multiple organizational leadership positions throughout undergrad.

Thank you for your help! Please no negativity -- I really am just trying to get a feel for this process :)

larsoner

Re: Admissions possibilities?

Postby larsoner » Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:38 am

You are really kind of late in the cycle. If at all possible I would wait a year as your chances will be hurt at this point as law schools almost all operate on rolling admissions. On the other hand, taking a year off (assuming you can find work) is generally looked upon favorably and may help you distance yourself from your relatively low GPA (low compared to your LSAT that is).