Dropping out of grad school - how bad does it look? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LT21

New

Dropping out of grad school - how bad does it look?

Post by LT21 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:16 pm

I am currently a PhD student at a university. I just completed first semester here and I am already considering dropping out due to personal reasons (I am no longer interested in a career in academia or research. I was also accused of grading unfairly as a TA, but the dept was still willing to let me TA, but for a different course).

If I drop out right now, I'm thinking about applying to work as an English teacher in Asia. However, because getting the documents takes some time, I likely won't be able to start until around April. I was thinking of working at Target or as a part-time tutor until then.

I am considering applying to law schools but I can't start until Fall '13 since I haven't taken the LSAT yet.

How bad will it look on my application if I drop out and then work as an English teacher (and work at Target before teaching)?

AlanShore

Silver

Re: Dropping out of grad school - how bad does it look?

Post by AlanShore » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:27 pm

I don't think it will hurt much, if at all. A close friend dropped out of a PhD program (but finished with masters) and he's in at Harvard. Many people realize they don't like academia. It may be wise to write a very very brief statement regarding the drop out just to cover your bases.

As for being a part-time tutor and working at Target.. it's fine. There are many unemployed grads right now.

cinephile

Gold

Post by cinephile » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:42 pm

I don't think it looks good to start an academic program and not complete it. Law school admissions might be wary that you'd decide law doesn't interest you either and drop out as well.

The Gentleman

Silver

Post by The Gentleman » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:47 pm