In a Wierd Situation

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
4gttngBrandonMarshal

In a Wierd Situation

Postby 4gttngBrandonMarshal » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:44 pm

I was admitted to a law school as a 1L in Fall 2011. I was not able to obtain my transcript before enrollment due to financial reasons but my school gave me a 1 semester grace period. The grace period came and went but I was still not able to obtain it. I'm not allowed to continue during the spring 2012 semester. On my LSAC report it will say that I attended the school but was not aloud to continue due to not meeting enrollment requirements (not having proof of a completed college degree). My degree is complete but my undergrad school will not release it due purely to financial reasons. I would like to apply to a different school for Fall 2012 enrollment as an entering 1L. I was admitted to this school last fall but did not attend because they would not grant me a grace period. Any idea on how an admissions committee would look at this situation? I would hate to be tossed out of consideration at a different school because of a financial problem. Any helpful suggestions are appreciated.

fundamentallybroken

Re: In a Wierd Situation

Postby fundamentallybroken » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:14 pm

Doesn't really matter how other schools will look at it - if you can't get a final transcript to prove you graduated, they won't let you attend either.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:16 pm

Perhaps you should get a job and pay your outstanding tuition at your undergrad school (I assume "financial reasons" means you owe them money), and then think about law school.

4gttngBrandonMarshal

Postby 4gttngBrandonMarshal » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:29 pm