MY FULL CRIMINAL RECORD!!! (addendum) - input needed

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
3v3ryth1ng

MY FULL CRIMINAL RECORD!!! (addendum) - input needed

Postby 3v3ryth1ng » Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:20 am

The following is a C&F addendum I wrote. Those of you with true insight into C&F issues, please read it and let me know if I did it right. Are there any problems with the way I wrote it? Is there a way I could have written it to minimize its damage, or possibly even help my application?

I'm very new to this, so your well-intentioned input or expertise is appreciated!
Thanks TLS!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Character & Fitness Addendum

Juvenile Record

• In October 2000, I was arrested for and later convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI), a misdemeanor. I was given probation, a fine, and a yearlong license suspension.

• In October 2000, I was arrested for and later convicted of possession for sale of Marijuana, a felony. I was sentenced to 60 days of juvenile detention and 2 years of probation. In addition, I was fined, required to attend Narcotics Anonymous meetings, and had my driving privileges suspended for an additional year. The conviction was later reduced from felony to misdemeanor through a 17b motion, and subsequently expunged.

I committed these offenses during a particularly tumultuous period in my life. However, I chose to learn from these mistakes, and shortly thereafter, I quit drugs and drinking permanently. My desire to misbehave dissipated with maturity. I have since led a productive life, and I currently have 11 years sobriety.

Adult Record

• On August 25, 2003, I was issued a citation for violating our city’s dog leash law when my dog escaped overnight. I paid the fine and made sure my dog never escaped again.

• On January 21, 2004, I was issued a traffic ticket for failing to stop at a stop sign. I completed traffic school for the offense.