C&F Question...even before I get ready to apply

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cornblight

C&F Question...even before I get ready to apply

Postby cornblight » Tue Dec 27, 2011 3:49 am

I am an undergraduate at HYP (junior) and with the realization that my GPA puts me in T14 (even T6) realm, I'm considering taking the LSAT and applying to law school. However, I am pretty concerned that an incident which pretty perfectly falls under C & F issues might pose a problem for my application and even for the bar. :(

Essentially, I am part of one of the a cappella groups for my school, and in February there is an initiation which involves a really really elaborate scavenger hunt for each of the freshmen in the singing group. My sophomore year, I was play-acting as a member of the Brady Brunch in one of the churches here at my school during this initiation for one of our freshmen. I was caught (obviously and of course) and was sent before our disciplinary board for hazing and for trespassing. No alcohol was involved. I received a reprimand, which is a punishment for which they remove all record after I graduate (the rules state it is a "matter of internal record only" and will basically be a problem for me if I ever go before the disciplinary board again, but isn't supposed to affect future employment).

I am now in a leadership position in this singing group and have played an instrumental role in changing our initiation practices to be totally in line with our school's hazing policy, and have had numerous meetings with my dean about how to do so.