Bad Circumstances & application ?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
coobs

Bad Circumstances & application ?

Postby coobs » Thu Dec 08, 2011 8:06 pm

I'm in my 30's, w/ a 3.6 from past undergrad and 10 years of solid work experience...8 of which have been in the criminal justice system.
About 5 years, on a whim and no studying, I took the lsat to see how I would do. Also, the lsat came at a bad time with some pregnancy issues for my wife. Anyway, I Got a 140. No excuses. My bad for not thinking ahead.
(mind you I had no idea how this would affect things later in my application process and such - otherwise I wouldn't have taken it)

Then last year I took the lsat. I studied, but honestly didn't prepare like I needed to, mainly because there were complications with my wife's pregnancy and a lot of political turmoil at work, both of which really messed me up. Again, I got a horrible lsat score.

6 Months ago while working I had a very traumatic experience and got hurt at my job. One fortunate thing that came out of this was that I was able to study hard for the lsat for a solid 3 months. After taking it last week, I think I may have done well. I'm not positive and am realistic, but I do feel better about this test then some of my practice tests.

I'm not going for a sympathy vote or pity and make no excuses for my poor performances. I will say though it has been a trying time these past few years.

Question now is,
1. do I wait for my december score to come back, or do I just click submit on my apps that are ready to go?
2. if I do click submit now, only 1 out the 6 schools I'm applying to ask for a reason why my lsat scores might have changed significantly. Do I just submit an addendum now for that school hoping my score is much better or do I not submit addenda?

Thanks in advance.

apollo2015

Re: Bad Circumstances & application ?

Postby apollo2015 » Thu Dec 08, 2011 8:46 pm