Yet another disclosure question Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ap613

New

Yet another disclosure question

Post by ap613 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:01 pm

Ok I know people must be getting sick of these but I have a scenario I need help with. I graduated college in 2010 and believe that while I was there I got written up for drinking in dorms once and took some online class as punishment. I don't know exactly what it was categorized as: warning, violation, etc. I just called my Dean's office and asked for everything they had on my file because I wanted to accutately report it. They said that after a year most files are deleted/cleared unless their is a serious violation. They checked my file and said there was nothing on it and if they got a request for certification it would state that. Am I ok assuming it was not actually something I need to report?

Platinum

Re: Yet another disclosure question

Post by 071816 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:04 pm

I definitely wouldn't.

Gold

Post by 20130312 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:06 pm

Whatever helps you sleep at night.

bobbyh1919

Silver

Post by bobbyh1919 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:39 pm

I reported an almost identical situation. Can't imagine any huge ramifications either way, but no one is going to care that you had a beer on campus a couple of years ago. I'd be safe and disclose.

theadvancededit

Bronze

Post by theadvancededit » Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:17 pm

InGoodFaith wrote:Whatever helps you sleep at night.
This is pretty sound advice, believe it or not.

If your school has no record of it, then it was not a serious enough infraction to be documented and, as such, there is no actual physical evidence to work against you during C&F. However, if you really feel uncomfortable with not talking about it, then you can write a short 3-4 sentence addendum explaining both the violation and lack of documentation. So, really, it's your call.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!