Should I apply now or next year?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
RamblinBoyofPleasure

Should I apply now or next year?

Postby RamblinBoyofPleasure » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:12 pm

Long story short, assembling the materials has taken longer than I had planned. Most of my apps can be complete sometime this week, except for one letter of rec that LSAC hasn't received yet (I've prodded the professor, and last I heard he said he was going to send it this week).

My question is: is it worth it to apply this late in the cycle? Right now I am thinking that I will just apply now and if I'm not happy with the results, defer for a year and apply again to a couple of schools next cycle. But is that feasible? Highly unethical?

Edit: My numbers are 3.51/171, and I graduated last spring and have a job right now.

rinkrat19

Re: Should I apply now or next year?

Postby rinkrat19 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:24 pm

RamblinBoyofPleasure wrote:Long story short, assembling the materials has taken longer than I had planned. Most of my apps can be complete sometime this week, except for one letter of rec that LSAC hasn't received yet (I've prodded the professor, and last I heard he said he was going to send it this week).

My question is: is it worth it to apply this late in the cycle? Right now I am thinking that I will just apply now and if I'm not happy with the results, defer for a year and apply again to a couple of schools next cycle. But is that feasible? Highly unethical?

Edit: My numbers are 3.51/171, and I graduated last spring and have a job right now.

A deferral may be binding, meaning once you committed, you couldn't apply again to other schools. (I deferred, but actually have no idea whether mine is binding. But I wasn't planning on doing any more applying so it didn't matter.)

descartesb4thehorse

Postby descartesb4thehorse » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:33 pm