In need of some help . . . ? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cj_stripe

New

In need of some help . . . ?

Post by cj_stripe » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:38 am

I am currently a freshman at Iowa State University studying Aerospace Engineering. Our finals are coming up next week and my grades are looking like they wil post up a 3.4 maybe 3.5 GPA for the semester? Is that bad for an engineering major? . . . Also, I would like to try to plan to go to Law School after my undergrad, but I am really confused as to what to do right now. I find engineering difficult and very time consuming but it is interesting, but not my "passion" by any means. I just don't see myself as an engineer in the future. I wanted to ask, what do Law Schools look for in applicants? Being in engineering, would I still need to have a 3.6-3.8 college GPA? Do they look more at ECs (extra-circs) too?

Also, what do Law Schools think about being involved in student government? I ask because I am planning on running for election of a Senate seat on our Student Government this year.

Thank you for the help and comments!

:)

89vision

Bronze

Re: In need of some help . . . ?

Post by 89vision » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:41 am

The average engineering GPA at my school is around 3.0 (some programs are top 20 or even top 10).

john1990

Silver

Post by john1990 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:42 am