ED question / scholarship negotiations

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
SoPro

ED question / scholarship negotiations

Postby SoPro » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:39 pm

Numbers: 3.94, 172.

I'm a Virginia resident, and UVa is by far my number one school. Using lawschoolnumbers.com, I believe I have a favorable chance of getting accepted, but I will not be able to afford UVa sticker, and I am extremely debt averse.

I've considered ED'ing to UVa to enhance my acceptance chances, but of course this eliminates my ability to negotiate scholarships.

Any thoughts on my situation are welcome. Also, if anyone knows anything about negotiating schollys/the process/etc, I'd love to hear from you.

bobbyh1919

Re: ED question / scholarship negotiations

Postby bobbyh1919 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:44 pm

With those numbers and the fact that you live in Virginia, I feel like you're a good bet for acceptance regardless of doing an ED. It's obviously riskier not to do an ED if you really want to go there, but I feel like there is much bigger upside in doing a RD in that they may themselves offer you some money up front, and you'd be in position to negotiate for more.

luxxe

Postby luxxe » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:53 pm

I absolutely would not ED. You are above both medians and a resident, there is no need. Write an amazing Why UVa, state explicitly that UVa is your number one choice, and enjoy a big scholly.

Dany

Postby Dany » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:54 pm

Good lord do not ED. Write an awesome Why UVA essay and you should be good to go.

SoPro

Postby SoPro » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:24 pm

Thanks. Any comments on the process of scholarship negotiation?

Postby 20130312 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:27 pm

1) Acquire scholly offers
2) ???
3) Profit

SoPro

Postby SoPro » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:12 am

InGoodFaith wrote:1) Acquire scholly offers
2) ???
3) Profit

Someone explain 2.

Samara

Postby Samara » Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:17 am

SoPro wrote:
InGoodFaith wrote:1) Acquire scholly offers
2) ???