Tips for getting a high GPA in undergrad/major change advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Voltaire_X

Tips for getting a high GPA in undergrad/major change advice

Postby Voltaire_X » Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:50 pm

Hello TLS,

I am currently a freshman in college. I am a mechanical engineering major BUT I am 99.99% positive that I will be attending law school. I was planning on just doing Mech. Eng. in undergrad as a backup plan to law school but now I realize that this is a terrible idea GPA-wise. This semester I will be getting around a 3.69 -3.75 LSAC GPA in Mech. Eng, but I will be switching majors for next semester.

My first question:
Right now I am looking at three possible majors to switch to: Classics, Economics, Political Science.

I have somewhat strong math skills. I used to consider myself a "math guy" until Calculus this past semester, which I am good at but will probably end up with a B+. All three of these majors interest me. Does anyone have any personal input as to which of these majors would be the easiest to get the highest GPA possible in? Evidence I have looked at shows that Classics majors have the highest average GPAs out of these. The undergraduate institution I am attending only requires about 9-10 courses in your major so I will still be able to take a number of classes that interest me outside my major. I really just want to know which of these majors you guys think is the easiest.

Second question:

Do you have any general tips for getting as high of a GPA as possible? I've looked at a few similar threads and the popular tips seem to be: Study hard, analyze the syllabus to see what essays/exams you should allocate the most time to, go over your essays with the professor outside of class, perfect attendance issues + high participation in class. Does anyone have any additional tips they'd like to share?

Thanks,
V

c3pO4

Re: Tips for getting a high GPA in undergrad/major change advice