LSAT addendum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
melj

LSAT addendum

Postby melj » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:31 am

Hello,

I'm considering writing an addendum for my LSAT score, and would greatly appreciate input on whether or not it would be worth it.

I studied independently for the LSAT, and my practice tests were consistently in the low to mid 170s. A week and a half before the October test, however, I contracted shingles. It began clearing up by the time of the test, but it meant that I spent the final days of preparation in intense pain and, ultimately, on vicodin. The scores I got on practice tests during this time dropped, the lowest being 166. On the actual test I scored 168.

I believe I can score higher than 168 and that shingles threw a wrench in the home stretch of my preparation. I considered taking the December test, but since I am still an undergraduate and the test would be right during my finals week, I doubted that I would be able to perform better when I would not be able to devote nearly as much time to preparation as I did before the October test.

Do you think an addendum is worth it if I explain all this, or will the people reading my application just say I should have taken the December test?

Thank you so much in advance for any input!

FryBreadPower

Re: LSAT addendum

Postby FryBreadPower » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:43 am

There are very few reasons LSAT Addendums should be seriously considered. This however, is certainly one of them. Having had my girlfriend describe shingles to me I can't imagine taking the test with them. You should definitely write the addendum.

89vision

Postby 89vision » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:49 pm