a foreign guy need advise from you

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

a foreign guy need advise from you

Postby 009811 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:23 pm

Hi,

I am a foreign student in a deep south public school. I have question of my chance to get into school. I need some advice.

I am will graduate next May. I got LSAT 160+, and GPA 3.4 (current GPA, may be a little higher at graduation). My family pay all my tuition. Now, I applied some fourth-tier school and some second-tier . Two of fourth tier school promise full-ride if I submit the application right now. Third-tier school say they may award partial scholarship depend on the incoming class and budget. Second-tier school say that they may award me scholarship or not, but I can get an admission.

Right now, My family can support $50, 000 for my graduate study. I do not want to spend all my parents whole life savings. So, tuition is top issue for me. Also, I am a foreign citizen, I cannot get a loan from any private lender. (It need a U.S citizen to be a co-signer for loan, but I cannot find someone to be a co-signer here). So I have to rely on the scholarship.

I want know that If I get into this fourth-tier school for 1L, could I transfer out at the end of 1L to a second-tier or third tier school? (Well, I am not sure that the % should I get in the class to be competitive to get a full-ride from a second/third tier school?) Is that a higher possiblity to get a transfer full-ride? Many posters say that law school grades are very unpredictable, I do not know that I can get a excellent grade even in a fourth tier school. Some school use full-ride to recruit students in and take over the scholarship at the end of 1L using the tough curve grade policies. Is that a big possiblity that some fourth-tier law school use this trick to take over the aid at the end of 1L?