for an international student, what is ur recommendation?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
rachelwang712

for an international student, what is ur recommendation?

Postby rachelwang712 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:35 am

My LSAT is 171. I have not got my GPA report yet but I am guessing it will be between superior and above average.

I did a double degree in Waseda Univ. in Japan and in Fudan Univ. in China.

I know it could be a little tricky but can anyone give me some recommendations on which school to apply for? I mean which would be more "friendly" to international students?

bdubs

Re: for an international student, what is ur recommendation?

Postby bdubs » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:39 am

Any school where you are at or above the LSAT median. That would be all of the T14 less Harvard, Yale, NYU, and Columbia. If you're really interested in NYU and Columbia they might still consider you, i'm not really sure what the general stats are for international students since there don't seem to be a large number.

tonton

Postby tonton » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:50 am

i know Harvard has a certain amount of international students they accept every year, and give funding to. Not sure about Columbia, NYU is pretty international-friendly too. And I just sent an email to Penn asking about specific information for international applicants, and they said "historically" (sigh) international students make up 5-7% of the Penn (JD) law student body. That's probably the average for most schools in the T14. So depending on the school, its 15-25 slots for international students :roll: and everyone else thought they had it bad.

On the bright side, maybe we qualify as URM (do we?), and I think the pool of international applicants is not that wide (is it?)

rachelwang712

Postby rachelwang712 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:51 am