HELP!!! GPA addendum - - is it too long?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
llachans

HELP!!! GPA addendum - - is it too long?

Postby llachans » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:40 pm

Edit: Deted original.

Thanks for the valuable help guys!
Last edited by llachans on Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rinkrat19

Re: HELP!!! GPA addendum - - is it too long?

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:55 pm

llachans wrote:Any input is REALLY needed!

During my first semester as an undergraduate, I attempted to build a relationship with my biological mother or biological brothers, whom I had never met. Unfortunately, due to my biological mother’s drug and alcohol addiction, the relationships deteriorated. Around this same time, my grandmother passed away from cancer. My GPA during my first two semesters reflects the emotional turmoil I was experiencing.

Realizing that I was not capable of giving my education my full attention, I opted to withdraw from the University of Iowa for a semester. During this semester off, I met with a therapist, who helped me to cope with my grandmother’s death and resolve my biological mother’s abandonment. When I returned to school, refocused and committed, my GPA immediately improved and remained consistently higher than my freshman year.

I believe that my cumulative grade point average does not accurately demonstrate my academic potential as a student, and that my performance in the years since my freshman year is more indicative of my abilities.
A little more succinct.

Curious1

Postby Curious1 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:56 pm

Wayyyyyyyyyy too long.

"An addendum should be no longer than 3 sentences." - Karen Buttenbaum, Dean of HLS admissions

llachans

Postby llachans » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:59 pm

rinkrat - Thank you! That's quite helpful.

Curious1 wrote:Wayyyyyyyyyy too long.

"An addendum should be no longer than 3 sentences." - Karen Buttenbaum, Dean of HLS admissions